top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Lescault

The Fictional Romance Moments Getting Me Through Another Pandemic Year

I am a lonely, single woman who has only ever experienced romance through fiction. So, when a global pandemic hit that made dating and romance even more awkward and difficult than it was before (which would honestly be impressive if it wasn't so dang depressing), I felt fully prepared to weather the storm. Ten months later, nothing has changed for me on the romantic front, but, with the pandemic closing in on the one-year anniversary milestone, I needed a pick-me-up of my favorite fictional romance moments. If you have also been ruined for anyone other than fictional men by years of rom-coms and Jane Austen novels, sit back, relax, and cry with me over these beautifully unattainable scenes.


 

Moments in Animated Movies and TV Shows


Lady and the Tramp (1955): Bella Notte Dinner Date

Let’s start with a classic: the music, the food, the atmosphere, everything about this scene is perfection. Are they animated dogs? Yes. Does this scene still make me want to be fed spaghetti by a handsome rascal from the wrong side of the tracks while we sit outside an Italian restaurant in candlelight? Also yes.



Anastasia (1997): Dress Reveal

Look, this movie is a masterclass in yearning and also 40% of the reason for my obsession with red hair and con-men characters. At this point, Dimitri has spent the past hour of the movie pining after Anya and failing to cover up his feelings by bickering with her most of the time. Finally, in what is hands-down the most satisfying fancy dress reveal of the '90s, he doesn't even bother to hide his expression of awe. Honestly, the way he looks at Anya is the whipped look of appreciation that everyone deserves to see on someone's face at least once in their lifetime.



The Clone Wars (2008-2020): Obi-Wan’s Quasi-Love Confession


Okay, so this one isn’t technically a movie, but it is some Jane Austen level stuff so I’m including it. If you’ve never watched The Clone Wars TV series, you need to stop reading right here, go watch it, and come back. This moment happens in Season 2 when Obi-Wan Kenobi, Jedi Master of repressed emotions and sass, confesses his love to the bad-ass pacifist Duchess of Mandalore, Satine. He literally, casually tells her, “If you had said the word, I would have left the Jedi order.” Like, I’m just telling you that I would have LEFT BEHIND THE CREED THAT I HAD SURVIVED BY EVER SINCE I WAS A TODDLER SIMPLY BECAUSE YOU ASKED ME TO, NBD!



 

Moments in Science Fiction/Fantasy


Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001): Arwen’s Love Assurance

This one definitely went over my head as a kid, but is literally one of THE most romantic ways you can assure someone of your feelings. There is a reason why so many nerds (i.e. anyone with taste) incorporate this quote into their own wedding vows. I don’t have anything else to say about this moment; it stands on its own.


Star Wars Episode V & VI (1980 & 1983): “I love you.” “I know.”

We will now take a moment to talk about my ALL TIME FAVORITE OTP WHO OWNS MY ENTIRE HEART. Leia Organa and Han Solo are the OG smart woman/himbo pairing in sci-fi and their iconic love declarations are *chefs kiss*. The first in Episode V is understandably the most lauded, but I personally love the reiteration of the lines in Episode VI because it is a perfect echoing of an intimate moment while also translating into Han saying to Leia “You are going to completely kick those stormtroopers’ asses and that is super hot” and I 100% respect that.


Star Wars Episode V (1980): Scoundress Kiss

I did not get the whole obsession with ‘boys’ until I watched the original Star Wars trilogy. Once I saw Harrison Ford as Han Solo, though, boy oh boy did I get it. This scene right here, THIS SCENE is why I now have a thing for soft-hearted scoundrels who try SO HARD to be the bad guy when they’ve really drunk way too much respect women juice to actually be a bad guy. Like the music, the whispering, the hand massaging, the gradual loss of personal space…..Yeah, I like this scene.


 

Rom-Coms and Non-Romances


While You Were Sleeping (1995) Lean Scene

While You Were Sleeping checks all of the necessary boxes, in my opinion, for a great rom-com: Christmas, cute boy/girl next door types, miscommunications, angst, fluff, and ALL THE MUTUAL PINING. This scene is basically all of the above condensed into a minute and a half. For a bonus, right after this scene, Jack (Bill Pullman) basically says by omission that Lucy (Sandra Bullock) is 100% his type and she should leave his comatose brother and be with him instead. In sum, '90s Bill Pullman deserves more love and respect from the rom-com community.


Austenland (2013) You Are My Fantasy

Listen, Austenland is the definitive Austenite adaptation and you can fight me on that. It is also one of my go-to bad day movies because it is just so fluffy and fun (Jane Austen references, JJ Field, comedy queen Jennifer Coolidge, perfect usage of '80s songs - it has it all). The part that really makes me re-watch over and over again is final scene when Henry (JJ Field) tells Jane (Kerri Russell) that she is his fantasy before kissing her deeply which thoroughly fuels my romance-starved daydreams.


Dirty Dancing (1987): Love is Strange Dance Scene


Ah, the movie that awakened so many of us to both the intimacy of dancing and the insane attraction of Patrick Swayze. Dirty Dancing was the first movie that I saw a protagonist who was plain with big hair and nose get the sensual, worldly man. I think it's safe to say that I watch this movie at least once a month and these scene at least once a week. The teasing, the chemistry, and the fun, relaxed atmosphere makes me want to have a summer fling in the middle of winter.



The Sound of Music (1965) Dance Scene

The Sound of Music isn’t technically a rom-com, but it isn’t a push to label it a romance musical. I am a simple woman: you put a man who isn’t looking for love after his wife dies who hires a woman to look after his children and then slowly falls in love with her sunny optimism and devotion to his kids in front of me and I melt. I’m pretty sure Maria and Captain Von Trapp were my first OTP before I even knew what OTPs were. Just watch this scene where they dance the Laendler and stare deeply into each others eyes and tell me it doesn’t make your heart flutter. I dare you.


The Mummy (1999) Rick gives Evie Archaeology Tools

Another movie that isn’t a romance, but nonetheless has one of the best portrayals of romance in Hollywood. Brendan Fraser was one of my biggest childhood crushes (along with Harrison Ford…..I think I have a type) and The Mummy cements why he is such a heartthrob. Rick is a bad boy ex-soldier who is absolutely NOT completely enamored with strong-willed librarian Evie and he only got her archaeology tools because it will help all of them and NOT because he wants her to be happy. Of course not.



 

Non-Jane Austen Literary Films


War and Peace (1867) Pierre Love Confession

I’m gonna be honest, I have not read Tolstoy’s War and Peace (has anyone?), but I have watched the 2016 mini-series and listened to the Broadway show soundtrack which is basically the same thing. The moment when Pierre tells Natasha that he is in love with her but isn’t worthy of her love is simultaneously heartbreaking and super romantic. War and Peace is only for the moments when you are feeling in the mood for depressive romance that may or may not end in death and suffering, like all good Russian literature. This moment, though, still is peak romance for the days when only some good angst will do.


Little Women (1994) Jo and Bhaer Reunited

I am one of the people who absolutely ADORES Jo March and Professor Bhaer together and I will happily go down with this ship. As great as the 2019 adaptation is, my heart will always belong to the 1994 edition mostly due to Winona Ryder, young Christian Bale, and this final scene. Knowing that they go on to open a super successful school together and remain completely obsessed with each other in the book sequels just makes this ending romantic perfection.


 

Historical Jane Austen Adaptations


Emma (2020) Hand Touch

We all know that the 2005 Pride and Prejudice adaptation is famous for the lingering hand touch (more on that later) and I was thrilled that the new Emma adaptation followed in their footsteps. Emma’s reluctance to let go of Knightley’s hand combined with the intimacy of a man and woman’s ungloved hands touching is just


Emma (2020) Love Declaration

Emma is actually pretty low on my list of favorite Austen novels, but it does have one of the most beautifully romantic love declarations of all time. Austen knew that women don’t want grandiose gestures of love, we want someone who is so enamored with us that they can’t think straight long enough to string together a coherent sentence. We stan a Romance Queen who walked so we could run.


Persuasion (2007) Love Letter

Persuasion is honestly probably Austen’s best novel and it is the inspiration for basically all the angsty, mutual-pining, second-chance fanfics of today. The scene where Anne reads Wentworth’s love letter after she has basically given up hope that he will ever forgive her and reads that he “is half-agony, half-hope” is the reason why I have such high expectations for men and why texting them is always such a perpetual disappointment.


Sense and Sensibility (1995) Give Me an Occupation

I see now that watching Alan Rickman playing Colonel Brandon when I was eight is 80% of the reason why I have a thing for older men now (and Harrison Ford, which is starting to become a trend). This scene in which he is so devastated and helpless by seeing Marianne ill and heartbroken and begs Eleanor to give him an occupation so that he doesn’t go mad is peak romance. Take notes, men.


Pride and Prejudice (1995) Lake Scene

You can’t have a collection of squeal-worthy moments on screen and NOT include the romantic awakening of 95% of the straight female population: Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy emerging from a lake in a see-through white shirt soaking wet. Every woman who watched this scene was never the same afterwards.


The entirety of Pride and Prejudice (2005)

I get that there are purists who don’t like that this adaptation oozes with sexual tension, I just don’t care. The way they look like they are about to start making out after completely insulting each other while soaking wet from the rain, how everyone else fades away while they are dancing, the stumbling through love confessions, it is all just too perfect. The sexiest moment is the hand flex and we all know it and should say it.




 

Now, if you will excuse me, I will be by myself crying over fictional couples and my own romance-free life.



16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page